When someone is told that they have stage four cancer, most people walk away feeling defeated and that they have been given an immediate death sentence. Remember not all cancers are the same. However, stage four cancer is the most advanced cancer grade.

Stage four (4) cancer is considered a grade of cancer which is known as the most advanced grade of cancer due to the cancer cells migration. A cancer’s advancement is determined by several types of tests a doctor will request. When the cancer is found to no longer reside in its originating origin and has spread throughout the bloodstream and or body, a cancer grade four is given. The two most common terms often used with grade four cancer is metastasized or metastatic cancer. The term metastasized is commonly used when the cancer has now spread to other parts of the body. One must remember that there is a continuous array of different style treatments and trials available to help treat the different grades and different types of cancers. Stage four (4) cancer is no longer viewed as an immediate incurable death sentence.

Some cancer screening tests that determine the grade of cancer one may have can be found below but are not limited to only these specific ones.

  • Screenings (MRI, PET, CT)
  • Physical exam
  • Blood test
  • Biopsy

A few cancer treatments may be:

  • Radiation therapy
  • Chemotherapy
  • Hormone therapy
  • Clinical trials

Medical Bin